Where’s Wendy? August 2014

AUGUST 2014

WHERE’S WENDY?

(Correct as of August 5, 2014)

Friday, August 1 –

Saturday, August 2 – Morning: Shopping at the farmers’ market

Sunday, August 3 – 9:00 – Attending service at St. James Anglican Church

Monday, August 4 – Civic Holiday

Wednesday, August 6 – 6:00 – Sister City Committee meeting, followed by visit to Cruise Night

Thursday, August 7 – 6:30 – Music at the Market event

Friday, August 8 – 6:00 – Attending the 50th anniversary of the Beckwith Fire Department

Saturday, August 9 – Morning: Shopping at the farmers’ market

1:00 – participating in 100th Anniversary of WWI  ceremonies at the cenotaph

Sunday, August 10 – 10:00 – Attending service at St. James Anglican Church

Tuesday, August 12 – 9:00 – Tourism Committee Meeting

6:30 – Music at the Market event OR modelling at Hospital Fashion Show – not sure yet!

Wednesday, August 13 – 5:00 – Lanark County Council meeting, Perth

Thursday, August 14 – 10:00 – Accreditation meeting for Lanark Lodge, Perth

Friday, August 15– Celebrating our 48th Wedding Anniversary!

Saturday, August 16 – 1:30 – Unveiling Ceremony for International Cairn, St. James Park

Sunday, August 17 –10:00 – Attending service at St. James Anglican Church

Monday, August 18 – 9:00 Greeting Japanese students at CPHS

Thursday, August 21 – 6:30 – Music at the market event

Saturday, August 23 – Morning: Shopping at the farmers’ market

Sunday, August 24 –10:00 – Attending service at St. James Anglican Church

Saturday, August 30 –(Labour Day Weekend) Morning: Shopping at the farmers’ market

Sunday, August 31 –10:00 – Attending service at St. James Anglican Church

 

Quarterly Report, April – June 2014

QUARTERLY REPORT APRIL to JUNE 2014 ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT Jasmin Ralph, Economic Development Co-ordinator, has explored the installation of fibre optic cabling in Industrial Park North and Hooper Street Business Park.  She identified the need for higher speed internet services through her ongoing Outreach Program where she meets one-on-one with local businesses. Business leaders have expressed […]

Response from Dave Parkhill, NDP Candidate

I was delighted to receive this response to my questions from Dave Parkhill this morning.  Thank you for taking the time, Dave, and responding clearly and concisely. Good morning, Wendy, I apologize for my delayed response – every day I’ve been door knocking or mainstreeting, and catching up on correspondence has waited until the rain […]

Responses from Provincial Election Candidates

As of Saturday, June 7, I have received no response from any of the candidates.  The letter was emailed to each candidate over a week ago. These are important issues that directly affect our community.

Questions to Candidates in 2014 Provincial Election

Open Letter to Local Candidates in the Provincial Election As Mayor of the Town of Carleton Place, I am concerned about the following issues and how they impact the citizens of our growing community:  We need, want, and deserve a new hospital in our community. The Champlain LHIN fully endorsed and supported the Carleton Place […]

Quarterly Report – January to March 2014

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT The new economic development website – www.businesscarletonplace.ca – is still being populated by Economic Development Co-ordinator, Jasmin Ralph; an interactive feature showing the status of development properties within town limits is a unique feature. Housing development plans were presented to Council by Planning Department staff and developers for Jackson Ridge, for an apartment […]

Where’s Wendy? March 2014

Saturday, March 1 – 11:00- Attending Grand Opening New2You; 12:00 – Attending grand Opening The Hair Chair; 6:00 – Attending the Tiny Hearts Gala Ball sponsored by Daycare Sunday, March 2 – 10:00 – Attending and participating in service at St. James Anglican Church; 3:00 – Attending Carleton Place Canadians Hockey Game at arena Monday, […]

Address to the AGM of the Carleton Place B.I.A.

ADDRESS by MAYOR WENDY LeBLANC to the ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING of the CARLETON PLACE B.I.A. January 23, 2014 January is absolutely the right time of year to hold an AGM as the events of the past year and the optimism of a new year are still fresh in everyone’s mind. You know, working towards creating a […]

Quarterly Report – October to December 2013

ITEM CURRENT STATUS Economic Development Council is pleased to announce the sale of the property adjacent to Market Square on Beckwith Street to Parkview Homes; the development will consist of ground floor commercial with apartments above.  The developer paid full asking price and did not request any concessions in the form of dropping of development […]